top of page
  • Writer's pictureMiss Doll

Pjur Love Toy Clean Antibacterial and Antifungal Spray

Cleaning properly your sex toys is vital: neutral soap and water often are not enough to kill all the harmful and potentially pathogenic bacteria that may be on their surfaces.

From the other side, antibacterial products containing alcohol may damage the material of your brand new G-spot vibrator: that's why choosing specific products for the hygiene of sex toys is strongly advisable.


sex toy cleaner

I'm always happy to test and review toy cleaners, because I want my readers to be aware of this category of adult products: I want to help them with finding the best product for their hygiene needs, and to teach them how to use it properly.

I'll stress it until everyone is tired to read it over and over again at my blog: CLEANING YOUR INTIMATE ACCESSORIES IS VITAL!

This time, I'm bringing to your attention an antibacterial, antifungal spray from one of my favourite sexual wellness brands: Pjur Love Toy Clean spray.


The packaging


sex toy cleaner

The Pjur Toy Clean spray doesn't come in a box: the bottle is just sealed in a protective plastic wrap. This way, you're completely sure the product is unopened and completely hygienic.

I love the minimal and non-gendered look of the packaging, with its light blue and yellow colours. On the back of the bottle, I can see the description of the product and directions for use in many languages, as well as the INCI.


The ingredients list


Ingredients: Aqua (Water), Butylene Glycol, Phenoxyethanol, Propylene Glycol, Bis-PEG/PPG-14/14 Dimethicone, Cocamidopropyl Betaine, Dimethicone.


sex toy cleaner

As stated on the label, the spray does not contain alcohol at all. Dimethicone is a silicone-derived substance I find very often in silicone-based sex lubes, and Phenoxyethanol is the antibacterial and antifungal active principle.


Propylene Glycol, Butylene Glycol and Cocamidopropyl Betaine may not be the most natural cosmetic ingredients, but I'm not that concerned since the product is not intended for direct contact with the skin. They're all widely used in daily personal care products. 

The label indicates that the product has a shelf life of 6 months after opening.

sex toy cleaner

To rinse or not to rinse?


The directions for use, clearly stated on the label, advise to 'spray directly [the product, Ed.] on the object to be cleaned and wash off, if necessary.'

I've heard so often that rinsing a sex toy cleaner is vital because you wouldn't want any residual of the chemical product inside your vagina, and so on...that I'm now surprised to see that this product needs to be rinsed under water only if necessary. Honestly, I've been using the Pjur Med CLEAN spray since forever on my sex toys and I've always just wiped it off as the directions for use clearly state on its packaging.

I really trust the folks at Pjur since they're the proud makers of some products that have changed my sex life for the better and, as a loyal customer, I know for sure that they're very serious about product safety: so, if they say that their toy cleaner is safe to wipe off without rinsing, I'll take their word for it!


The clean-up session


The product is completely unscented and doesn't have that unpleasant smell of hand sanitizer that many other sex toy cleaners have.

sex toy cleaner

I don't really know how, but I managed to learn that the Pjur Toy Clean spray doesn't have a nasty or chemical aftertaste. Errr...when your long distance partner suddenly calls you for a hot Skype surprise date, and he asks you to give a blowjob to that dildo you had just cleaned, well...this is how you get to know how does a toy cleaner

taste!


How do I use it? Well, I just spray this product all over my sexy accessory, then I leave it to act for a few seconds. Finally, I wipe it off very carefully, with a paper tissue or at least with the less linty towel I can get. If the toy has caught on dust, lint or hair, then I really can't clean it properly without a good rinse under running water. 



The pump dispenser needs to be 'warmed up' the first time you open the bottle, but after this procedure, it lets out just the right amount of product: I usually clean my smaller bullet vibes or cockrings with 1-2 sprays, and my rabbit vibrators or average-sized dildos with 2-3 sprays. This way, the 100ml bottle of this toy cleaner from Pjur will last a long time!

The texture of the product is completely liquid and colorless, and it evaporates quickly, leaving no residue at all. 


In Summary


The Pjur Toy Love Clean Spray is a body-safe, alcohol free antibacterial cleaner that will keep your favourite toys in a perfectly hygienic condition. It won't damage silicone or other alcohol sensitive materials, and it doesn't leave a funky smell.


sex toy cleaner

It's slightly more expensive than average, since the 100ml bottle is sold at 14.95€ at Pjur's official shop: still, I think its quality and safety are worth all the (few) extra money.

You can buy it directly from Pjur's shop online here. 


I got this product free of charge from Pjur in exchange for my honest, unbiased review. Unaffiliated post.

Recent Posts

See All

GoGasm Orgasm to Go!, the new frontier of partner play

The GoGasm range is all about pleasuring simultaneously two sensitive spots of the female nether regions: the vagina and the anus. The latter is very probably the most underrated one, am I right? I ha

bottom of page